Your ABA

ABA Announcements


The Association’s Constitution at §6.3(a) provides that if only one valid nominating petition is filed in a State Delegate election, the Board of Elections shall certify to the House of Delegates that the sole nominee is elected. Accordingly, on December 11, 2012 the Board of Elections certified the following persons to be State Delegates for three-year terms beginning with the adjournment of the 2013 Annual Meeting.

State: Candidate

Alabama: Clark A. Cooper

Alaska: Maryann E. Foley

California: John L. McDonnell, Jr.

Florida: Hilarie Bass

Hawaii: Margaret K. Masunaga

Kansas: Christel E. Marquardt

Massachusetts: Alice E. Richmond

Missouri: Joseph B. Whisler

New Mexico: Charles J. Vigil

North Carolina: E. Fitzgerald Parnell III

North Dakota: James S. Hill

Pennsylvania: Michael H. Reed

Tennessee: Randall D. Noel

Vermont: Frank H. Langrock

Virginia: Tracy A. Giles

The Honorable Anne M. Burke, Chair
Louise Michaux Gonzales
Harry L. Hathaway


The following persons accredited to the states of Kentucky and Wisconsin have filed petitions making nominations for the office of State Delegate. The term is for three years commencing at the adjournment of the 2013 Annual Meeting. The name of each contested nominee and the names of 25 signers of his/her petition are published below in accordance with § 6.3(b) of the Constitution of the American Bar Association.


MARCIA MILBY RIDINGS of London, Kentucky. Nominated by George E. Long II, C. Edward Glasscock, Thomas L. Rouse, David B. Sloan, Edward C. Monahan, John M. Rosenberg, William E. Johnson, Norman E. Harnod, Bart Greenwald, Palmer G. Vance II, Eileen M. O’Brien, Martha A. Rosenberg, Charles E. English, Jr., Wm. T. (Bill) Robinson III, Thomas B. Wine, John McGarvey, John A. Bartlett, Lori H. Flanery, Todd Page, David Schwetschenau, Dana Howard, Phillip Douglas Barr, Lindsey Ingram III, Shannon A. Singleton and Kimberly J. O’Donnell.

PALMER G. VANCE III of Lexington, Kentucky. Nominated by Wm. T. (Bill) Robinson III, Marcia Milby Ridings, Cassidy Rosenthal, Tiffany Fleming, Richard A. Cullison, Richard A. Underwood, Matthew R. Parsons, Perry M. Bentley, Greg King, Carl N. Frazier, Lewis Paisley, Kimberly O’Donnell, J. David Smith, Richard H. Mains, Dan Rose, Larry A. Sykes, David Schwetschenau, R. David Lester, James D. Allen, Lucy A. Pett, Todd Page, Shannon A. Singleton, C. Joseph Beavin, P. Douglas Barr and Jamie Brodsky.


MICHELLE A. BEHNKE of Madison, Wisconsin. Nominated by John S. Skilton, Michelle M. Umberger, Autumn N. Nero, Jeff Bowen, Freya Bowen, Lissa R. Koop, Emily J. Lee, Andrew B. Coursin, David J. Harth, David E. Jones, Gabrielle E. Bina, Melody K. Glazer, Sarah C. Walkenhorst, Eric G. Barber, Pamela Barker, Matthew C. Carlson, Linda H. Bochert, Jordan J. Hemaidan, Thomas J. Keating, Lynda M. Fitzpatrick, Michael Screnock, Angela Black, Ann Ustad Smith, Craig J. Johnson and Hamang B. Patel.

NATHANIEL CADE, JR., of Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Nominated by Richard Podell, Carl Ashley, James M. Brennan, Louis B. Butler, Jr., Charles N. Clevert, Jr., Gregory B. Conway, Raymond M. Dall’asto, John W. Daniels, Jr., Francis W. Deisinger, Dean R. Dietrich, Charles P. Graupner, Charles E. Hanson, Thomas L. Horvath, Grant C. Killoran, Walter J. Lanier, Gail A. Lione, Peter F. Mullaney, Thomas M. Oleniczak, Jospeh A. Pickart, Kevin JT Terry, Timothy S. Trecek, Benjamin S. Wagner, Todd M. Weir, Marti L. Wronski and Tori Kluess.

The Honorable Anne M. Burke, Chair
Louise Michaux Gonzales
Harry L. Hathaway


The ABA President will appoint one minority member-at-large and one woman member-at-large to the Nominating Committee for the term 2013-2016. Nominations for these appointments are submitted to the President by the Commission on Racial and Ethnic Diversity in the Profession and the Commission on Women in the Profession. For information, interested persons should contact the Commissions directly: Racial and Ethnic Diversity (312/988-5638) or Women in the Profession (312/988-5497).


The Constitution and Bylaws of the American Bar Association may be amended only at the ABA Annual Meeting upon action of the House of Delegates. The next Annual Meeting of the House of Delegates will be August 12-13, 2013, in San Francisco, California.

Proposals to amend either the Constitution or Bylaws may be submitted by any ABA member. It is preferable that proposals be submitted in the form of a memorandum that details the purpose and effect of the proposal.

In order to be considered at the 2013 Annual Meeting, a proposed amendment must be received by the Division for Policy Administration at the American Bar Center on or before Friday, March 8, 2013. This deadline is essential in order to allow time for proposed amendments to be considered by the Standing Committee on Constitution and Bylaws.

Exact language will be drafted by the Standing Committee on Constitution and Bylaws and submitted to the sponsors for approval. This procedure will ensure that all amendments that are approved conform to style required by the rules.

Articles 12 and 13 of the Constitution require that notice of proposed amendments must be given to all ABA members at least 30 days in advance of the meeting at which the amendments are to be considered. Therefore, proposed amendments will be published in the July 2013 issue of the ABA Journal. The proponent or his or her designee must be in attendance to present the amendment for debate by the House of Delegates at the meeting at which the proposal will be considered.

Copies of Article 12, concerning amendment of the Bylaws, and Article 13, concerning amendment of the Constitution, will be provided to any member upon request to the Division for Policy Administration at the American Bar Center, 321 N. Clark Street, 21st Floor, Chicago, Illinois 60654.

Hon. Cara Lee T. Neville

We welcome your comments, but please adhere to our comment policy and the ABA Code of Conduct.

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.