International Law

'Champions of Justice' Share $500,000 Prize


Gruber Foundation video biography of Shestack.

The Peter and Patricia Gruber Foundation has announced that two renowned human rights lawyers will share its $500,000 Gruber Foundation International Justice Prize for 2008.

Thomas Buergenthal, an American judge on the International Court of Justice who co-authored the first international human rights law textbook in the U.S., and Jerome Shestack, a former president of the ABA who helped end “disappearances” in Argentina, Brazil and Chile, are the winners, the foundation reports in a press release.

The prize recognizes their “contributions that have advanced the cause of justice as delivered through the legal system,” the press release explains, and “is intended to acknowledge individual efforts, as well as to encourage further advancements in the field and progress toward bringing about a fundamentally just world.”

The prize will be awarded in a ceremony in the fall.

More on Shestack:

Gruber Foundation video biography of Shestack.

We welcome your comments, but please adhere to our comment policy and the ABA Code of Conduct.

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.