Posted Sep 27, 2013 05:05 pm CDT
California household domestic workers formerly exempt from overtime under state law will soon be entitled to it, thanks to a new wage law.
Previously, California household employees who spent more than 80 percent of their time caring for others were exempt from overtime, Reuters reports.
Under the new law, the definition of a “domestic work employee” does not include babysitters under the age of 18, who care for minor children. It also excludes “casual babysitters,” which the text describes as someone whose employment is “irregular or intermittent.”
Earlier in September, the U.S. Department of Labor issued rules that require aides and personal care assistants placed by outside agencies be paid an hourly minimum wage and overtime for work over 40 hours a week. The rules are scheduled go into effect in 2015, according to Reuters.