Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction

Book entries now being taken for Harper Lee Prize

  • Print.

Harper Lee Prize logo

The University of Alabama School of Law is now taking entries for the Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction, which annually honors fiction writing about lawyers’ role in society, and how they can bring about change.

Entries must be book-length works of fiction published in 2015. The deadline to submit a book is March 31. A panel will select three finalists for which the public can cast a vote at ABAJournal.com. A prize winner will be announced in May and honored at a September 2016 ceremony.

The winner will also receive a 50th anniversary edition of To Kill a Mockingbird signed by author Harper Lee and the right to include the prize logo on their winning book’s cover.

Among the previous Harper Lee award winners are The Secret of Magic by Deborah Johnson, Sycamore Row by John Grisham, Havana Requiem by Paul Goldstein and The Fifth Witness by Michael Connelly.

An entry form for the contest can be found here (PDF).

Give us feedback, share a story tip or update, or report an error.