Your ABA

ABA Announcements

  • Print


According to § 6.3(a) of the American Bar Association Constitution, if only one valid nominating petition has been filed in a state where a State Delegate Election is being held, the Board of Elections shall certify to the House of Delegates that the sole nominee is elected. The Board certified the results in the uncontested states on Wednesday, December 17, 2008. The following State Delegates will serve three-year terms commencing at the adjournment of the 2009 Annual Meeting.

State / Candidate
Arkansas / H. William Allen
Delaware / Harvey Bernard Rubenstein
Georgia / Allan J. Tanenbaum
Idaho / M. Allyn Dingel Jr.
Indiana / Joseph D. O’Connor
Louisiana / David F. Bienvenu
Maryland / Robert T. Gonzales
Minnesota / Cara Lee Neville
Nevada / Steven T. Walther
New Hampshire / L. Jonathan Ross
Ohio / Kathleen B. Burke
Oregon / Mark Johnson
Rhode Island / Joseph J. Roszkowski
West Virginia / Dan O. Callaghan

BOARD OF ELECTIONS Glenn Murdock, Chair
Jack B. Middleton
Louise Michaux Gonzales


The following persons accredited to the states of Colorado, New York and Utah have filed petitions making nominations for the office of State Delegate. The term is for three years commencing at the adjournment of the 2009 Annual Meeting. The name of each contested nominee and the names of 25 signers of his/her petition are published below in accordance with § 6.3(b) of the Constitution of the American Bar Association.


BEVERLY J. QUAIL of Denver, Colorado. Nominated by: Lawrence J. Donovan, Jr., Ronald Kymn Walter, Edward N. Barad, Tal Diamant, Kent Jay Levine, John S. Kellogg, James G. Benjamin, Andrew McLure Toft, Lucy A. Marsh, Mary M. Schwebach, Joseph E. Lubinski, Cindy L. Robinson, Thomas H. Duncan, Ryan M. Howe, Mark J. Maichel, Dwight R. Landes, Patrick H. Pugh, Alicia B. Clark, Martha S. Nachman, Paul W. Scott, Corbet Michael Shull, Gwendolyn C. Allen, Wayne H. Hykan, Ellen O’Brien Kauffmann and Jeffrey R. Davine.

FREDERIC RODGERS of Golden, Colorado. Nominated by: Thomas L. Kanan, Jr., Peter D. Willis, Richard P. Holme, Carlos F. Lucero, Luis D. Rovira, Edwin L. Felter, Donald A. Bertram, John Cardinal Parks, W. David Lytle, Anthony Van Westrum, Robert J. Kapelke, Jose R. Juarez, Jr., David M. Johnson, Federico C. Alvarez, Diana L. Terry, R. Gregory Stutz, Alan C. Friedberg, Kenneth M. Laff, Daniel R. McCune, Dale R. Harris, David H. Getches, Erin Hickey, Joe E. Pickard, Richard L. Gabriel and Mark Berry. TERRY RUCKRIEGLE of Breckenridge, Colorado. Nominated by: Kathleen Odle, Timothy B. Walker, Christopher B. Little, James F. Carr, Ilene Lin Bloom, Chris Zenisek, Richard S. Gast, Mark A. Fogg, Federico C. Alvarez, Dale R. Harris, Charles C. Turner, Anthony Van Westrum, Joan McWilliams, Richard B. Caschette, Eugene P. Zuspann II, Bennett S. Aisenberg, James H. Chalat, Diane Carlton, Gary Abrams, Tim Berry, R. Thomas Moorhead, John W. Dunn, Erin C. Hunter, Natalie J. French and Susanne Rhodes.


MARK H. ALCOTT of New York, New York. Nominated by: Robert MacCrate, Howard A. Levine, George Bundy Smith, Robert B. Fiske, Jr., Henry G. Miller, Stephen P. Younger, Kathryn Grant Madigan, Rachel L. Krester, Michael A. Cooper, Gregory P. Joseph, G. Robert Witmer, Jr., Catherine A. Christian, Marc C. Zauderer, Stewart F. Hancock, Jr., Lillian Moy, Terrence M. Connors, Hermes Fernandez, Audrey Strauss, Maxwell S. Pfeifer, James C. Moore, Lawrence R. Bailey, Jr., Roseann C. Branda, Alexander D. Forger, Ellen G. Makofsky and Victor A. Kovner.

SHARON STERN GERSTMAN of Buffalo, New York. Nominated by: M. Catherine Richardson, A. Vincent Buzard, A. Thomas Levin, Kathryn Grant Madigan, Ann B. Lesk, Steven C. Krane, Robert E. Juceam, Diana J. Szochet, Bettina B. Plevan, Michael H. Byowitz, Scott Karson, Patricia E. Salkin, Robert MacCrate, Cathy Fleming, David Martin Schraver, Michael E. Getnick, Kenneth G. Standard, Anthony R. Palermo, Robert L. Ostertag, Susan P. Serota, Peter Blessing, Deborah Enix-Ross, James B. Kobak, Jr., Seth Rosner and Bernice K. Leber.


CHARLES R. BROWN of Salt Lake City, Utah. Nominated by: John E. Gates, Keith A. Call, Shawn E. Draney, John S. Treu, A. Dennis Norton, Andrew M. Morse, Heather S. White, David L. Pinkston, David F. Mull, P. Matthew Cox, Reed L. Martineau, Camille N. Johnson, Richard Van Wagoner, Samuel S. Harkness, Derek J. Williams, Christopher B. Snow, Matthew Wiesse, Walter A. Romney, Jennifer James, D. Brent Rose, Rodney G. Snow, E. Barney Gesas, Matthew A. Steward, Edwin C. Barnes and Thomas Boyle.

CHARLOTTE L. MILLER of Salt Lake City, Utah. Nominated by: James B. Lee, Paul T. Moxley, Patricia W. Christensen, Gayle F. McKeachnie, Lois A. Baar, Richard Burbidge, Kathryn H. S. Pett, Paul G. Cassell, Jane Marquardt, George Haley, Su Chon, Steve Russell, Randy L. Dryer, Jody K. Burnett, Alan L. Sullivan, Ellen Maycock, George A. Hunt, J. Simon Cantarero, Martin N. Olsen, Raymond J. Etcheverry, Christine T. Greenwood, Nathan D. Alder, Christina Schmutz, Manal Hall and David Greenwood.

BOARD OF ELECTIONS Glenn Murdock, Chair
Jack B. Middleton
Louise Michaux Gonzales


The ABA President will appoint one minority member-at-large and one woman member-at-large to the Nominating Committee for the term 2009-2012. Nominations for these appointments are submitted to the President by the Commission on Racial and Ethnic Diversity in the Profession and the Commission on Women in the Pro­fession. For information, interested persons should contact the Commissions directly: Racial and Ethnic Diversity (312/988-5643) or Women in the Profession (312/988-5715).


The Constitution and Bylaws of the American Bar Association may be amended only at the ABA Annual Meeting upon action of the House of Delegates. The next Annual Meeting of the House of Delegates will be July 30-August 4, 2009 in Chicago, Illinois.

Proposals to amend either the Constitution or Bylaws may be submitted by any ABA member. It is preferable that proposals be submitted in the form of a memorandum that details the purpose and effect of the proposal.

In order to be considered at the 2009 Annual Meeting, a proposed amendment must be received by the Division for Policy Administration at the American Bar Center on or before Friday, March 13, 2009. This deadline is essential in order to allow time for proposed amendments to be considered by the Standing Committee on Constitution and Bylaws.

Exact language will be drafted by the Standing Committee on Constitution and Bylaws and submitted to the sponsors for approval. This procedure will ensure that all amendments that are approved conform to style required by the rules.

Articles 12 and 13 of the Constitution require that notice of proposed amendments must be given to all ABA members at least 30 days in advance of the meeting at which the amendments are to be considered. Therefore, proposed amendments will be published in the July 2009 issue of the ABA Journal. The proponent or his or her designee must be in attendance to present the amendment for debate by the House of Delegates at the meeting at which the proposal will be considered.

Copies of Article 12, concerning amendment of the Bylaws, and Article 13, concerning amendment of the Constitution, will be provided to any member upon request to the Division for Policy Administration at the American Bar Center, 321 N. Clark Street, 21st Floor, Chicago, Illinois 60654.

Hon. Bernice B. Donald

CLE Programs in March

For information, contact the ABA Service Center at 800-285-2221 or .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address), or visit

Give us feedback, share a story tip or update, or report an error.