Your ABA

ABA Announcements

  • Print


Pursuant to § 6.5 of the ABA Constitution, six Delegates-at-Large to the House of Delegates will be elected at the 2010 Annual Meeting for three-year terms beginning with the adjournment of that meeting and ending with the adjournment of the 2013 Annual Meeting. Candidates for election as Delegate-at-Large are to be nominated by written petition. The deadline for filing nominating petitions for the 2010 election in San Francisco, California, is Friday, May 14, 2010.

Under the Constitution, no more than one nominee from a particular state, territory or possession may be elected in the annual election. If more than one member accredited to the same state, territory or possession submits nominating petitions, each will be notified within ten days of the fact that there is more than one nominee.

Voting will take place in the registration area of the Moscone Center. The polls will be open during the same hours as registration, except on the last day the polls will close at 10:00 a.m. The votes will then be tallied and the six nominees with the highest number of votes (taking into account that no more than one may be elected from the same state, territory or possession) will be declared elected as Delegates-at-Large. In the event of a tie vote, I, as the Secretary, will determine the winner by lot. Rules that restrict campaigning for the position of Delegate-at-Large will be mailed to all nominees upon receipt of their petitions.

Nominating petitions may be obtained from the Office of the Secretary, Carri L. Kerber, American Bar Center, 321 N. Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois 60654-7598. The petition must be signed by twenty-five (25) members of the American Bar Association. The signing by any member of one petition will not disqualify him/her as the signer of other petitions. Each petition must be filed with my office at the above address by the close of business at 5:00 p.m. (CDT), Friday, May 14, 2010. The filing must include the written consent of the nominee and a biographical sketch approved by the nominee consisting of not more than seventy-five (75) words. All biographical sketches will be printed and available to Association members as they register or collect their credentials at the registration desk at the Annual Meeting.

Any questions regarding the foregoing should be sent promptly to the Office of the Secretary at the Bar Center in care of Carri L. Kerber.

Hon. Bernice B. Donald


Pursuant to § 6.3(e) of the ABA’s Constitution, the state of Arizona will elect a State Delegate to fill a vacancy due to the resignation of Daniel J. McAuliffe. The term commences immediately upon certification by the Board of Elections and expires at the conclusion of the 2011 Annual Meeting.


Nominating petitions must be filed with the Board of Elections at Association headquarters not later than Friday, April 16, 2010. A minimum of twenty-five signatures of members of the Association is required.

While it is desirable that more than the required minimum of twenty-five names of members of the Association appear on the nominating petitions, only twenty-five names of signers of any petition will be included with the ballot. Only signatures of members of the Association will be counted. Each nominating petition must be accompanied by a typewritten list of names and addresses of the signers in the order in which they appear on the petition. The petition must also be accompanied by a one-hundred-word biographical sketch of the nominee. Forms for this purpose will be provided. The biographical sketch and a list of twenty-five signers from the nominating petitions will be included in the ballot material sent to each Association member in the state of Arizona.

The candidate and all signers must be members of the Association whose membership is accredited to the state of Arizona. There is no limit to the number of candidates who may be nominated in any state, and the nominations are made only on the initiative of members themselves.

Each nominee for the office of State Delegate is entitled to receive one list of the names and addresses of the Association members in his/her state. The list is to be made available only after the proper filing of nominating petitions and after the petition filing deadline, upon written request. The nominee should allow fourteen days from receipt of the request until delivery of the list.

Nominating petitions may be obtained from the Board of Elections at the headquarters office of the American Bar Association, 321 N. Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois 60654, and must be filed before the close of business at 5:00 P.M., Friday, April 16, 2010.

Ballots will be mailed to Association members in good standing, accredited to the state of Arizona, no later than Friday, May 14, 2010. In accordance with § 6.3(e) of the ABA Constitution, no ballots will be mailed to members when a State Delegate election is uncontested. If only one valid nominating petition is filed, the Board of Elections will certify that the sole nominee is elected.

Hon. Annice M. Wagner, Chair
Louise Michaux Gonzales
Jack B. Middleton


In accordance with § 9.1 of the Association’s Constitution, the Nominating Committee of the House of Delegates, at its meeting on Sunday, February 7, 2010, nominated Wm. T. Robinson III as President-Elect (2010-2011); Linda A. Klein as Chair, House of Delegates (2010-2012); Judge Cara Lee T. Neville as Secretary (2011-2014, to serve as Secretary-Elect 2010-2011); and Lucian T. Pera as Treasurer (2011-2014, to serve as Treasurer-Elect 2010-2011).

The Nominating Committee also nominated the following individuals as members of the Board of Governors:

District Members (2010-2013)

District 7: Cheryl I. Niro, Illinois
District 8: Edith G. Osman, Florida
District 10: James S. Hill, North Dakota
District 11: James F. Carr, Colorado
District 13: Carlos A. Rodriguez Vidal, Puerto Rico
District 18: James Dimos, Indiana

Members-at-Large (2010-2013)
Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar: Peter A. Winograd, New Mexico
Public Contract Law: Mary Ellen Coster Williams, Maryland
Woman Member-at-Large (2010-2013): Michelle A. Behnke, Wisconsin

Hon. Bernice B. Donald

CLE Programs in May

For information, contact the ABA Service Center at 800-285-2221 or .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address), or visit

Give us feedback, share a story tip or update, or report an error.