Your ABA

ABA Announcements

  • Print


Pursuant to § 6.5 of the ABA Constitution, six Delegates-at-Large to the House of Delegates will be elected at the 2012 Annual Meeting for three-year terms beginning with the adjournment of that meeting and ending with the adjournment of the 2015 Annual Meeting. Candidates for election as Delegate-at-Large are to be nominated by written petition. The deadline for filing nominating petitions for the 2012 election in Chicago, Illinois, is Friday, May 18, 2012.

Under the Constitution, no more than one nominee from a particular state, territory or possession may be elected in the annual election. If more than one member accredited to the same state, territory or possession submits nominating petitions, each will be notified within ten days of the fact that there is more than one nominee.

Voting will take place in the registration area of the Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel. The polls will be open during the same hours as registration, except that the polls will close on Monday, August 6, 2012, at 5:00 p.m. The votes will then be tallied and the six nominees with the highest number of votes (taking into account that no more than one may be elected from the same state, territory or possession) will be declared elected as Delegates-at-Large. In the event of a tie vote, I, as the Secretary, will determine the winner by lot. Rules that restrict campaigning for the position of Delegate-at-Large will be mailed to all nominees upon receipt of petitions.

Nominating petitions may be obtained from the Office of the Secretary, Attn: Carri L. Kerber, American Bar Center, 321 N. Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois 60654. The petition must be signed by twenty-five (25) members of the American Bar Association. The signing by any member of one petition will not disqualify him/her as the signer of other petitions. Each petition must be filed with my office at the above address by the close of business at 5:00 p.m. (CT), Friday, May 18, 2012. The filing must include the written consent of the nominee and a biographical sketch approved by the nominee consisting of not more than seventy-five (75) words. All biographical sketches will be printed and available to Association members as they register or collect their credentials at the registration desk at the Annual Meeting.

Any questions regarding the foregoing should be sent promptly to the Office of the Secretary at the Bar Center in care of Carri L. Kerber.

Hon. Cara Lee T. Neville


Pursuant to § 6.3(c) of the Constitution of the American Bar Association, the Board of Elections hereby certifies the results of the 2012 Contested State Delegate Elections in Maryland and Utah.

On March 13, 2012, the Board of Elections declared the following persons as elected to be State Delegates for a three-year term effective at the conclusion of the 2012 Chicago Annual Meeting:

Maryland: Barbara K. Howe

Utah: Lawrence E. Stevens

Chief Justice John D. Minton, Jr.
Chair, Board of Elections


For information, contact the ABA Service Center at 800-285-2221 or [email protected], or visit

Give us feedback, share a story tip or update, or report an error.