Your ABA

ABA Announcements

  • Print


Pursuant to § 6.5 of the ABA Constitution, six Delegates-at-Large to the House of Delegates will be elected at the 2014 Annual Meeting for three-year terms beginning with the adjournment of that meeting and ending with the adjournment of the 2017 Annual Meeting. Candidates for election as Delegate-at-Large are to be nominated by written petition. The deadline for filing nominating petitions for the 2014 election in Boston, Massachusetts, is Friday, May 16, 2014.

Under the Constitution, no more than one nominee from a particular state, territory or possession may be elected in the annual election. If more than one member accredited to the same state, territory or possession submits nominating petitions, each will be notified within ten days of the fact that there is more than one nominee.

Voting will take place in the registration area of the Hynes Convention Center. The polls will be open during the same hours as registration, except that the polls will close on Monday, August 11, 2014, at 5:00 p.m. The votes will then be tallied and the six nominees with the highest number of votes (taking into account that no more than one may be elected from the same state, territory or possession) will be declared elected as Delegates-at-Large. In the event of a tie vote, I, as the Secretary, will determine the winner by lot. Rules that restrict campaigning for the position of Delegate-at-Large will be mailed to all nominees upon receipt of petitions.

Nominating petitions may be obtained from the Office of the Secretary, Attn: Leticia Spencer, American Bar Center, 321 N. Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois 60654. The petition must be signed by twenty-five (25) members of the American Bar Association. The signing by any member of one petition will not disqualify him/her as the signer of other petitions. Each petition must be filed with my office at the above address by the close of business at 5:00 p.m. (CT), Friday, May 16, 2014. The filing must include the written consent of the nominee and a biographical sketch approved by the nominee consisting of not more than seventy-five (75) words. All biographical sketches will be printed and available to Association members as they register or collect their credentials at the registration desk at the Annual Meeting.

Any questions regarding the foregoing should be sent promptly to the Office of the Secretary at the Bar Center in care of Leticia Spencer.

Hon. Cara Lee T. Neville

Nominating Committee Action at the 2014 Midyear Meeting

In accordance with § 9.1 of the Association’s Constitution, the Nominating Committee of the House of Delegates, at its meeting on Sunday, February 9, 2014, nominated Paulette Brown of New Jersey as President-Elect (2014-2015) and Patricia L. Refo of Arizona as Chair of the House of Delegates (2014-2016).

The Nominating Committee also nominated the following individuals as members of the Board of Governors:

District Members (2014-2017)

District 1: Wendell G. Large, Maine
District 2: Alice A. Bruno, Connecticut
District 4: Herbert B. Dixon, Jr., District of Columbia
District 6: David F. Bienvenu, Louisiana
District 12: Harry Truman Moore, Arkansas

Section Members-at-Large (2014-2017)

Section of Litigation:
William R. Bay, Missouri

Section of Intellectual Property Law:
Donald R. Dunner, District of Columbia

Minority Member-at-Large (2014-2017)

Ruthe C. Ashley, California

Woman Member-at-Large (2014-2017)

Pamela A. Bresnahan, District of Columbia

Young Lawyer Member-at-Large (2014-2017)

Min K. Cho, Florida

Give us feedback, share a story tip or update, or report an error.