Your ABA

ABA Notices

  • Print.


Proposed amendments to the Constitution and Bylaws of the American Bar Association summarized below have been duly filed with the Secretary of the Association by the indicated sponsoring members of the Association for consideration by the House of Delegates at the 2008 Annual Meeting in New York, New York. Copies of the full text of these proposals will be published in the book of reports to the House of Delegates and are also available on the ABA’s Website on the House of Delegates Leadership Page @ (click on 2008 New York Annual Meeting). These proposals are also available to any member upon request to the Division for Policy Administration at the American Bar Center, 321 N. Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60654, 312/988-5230.

I. Notice is hereby given that Edward Haskins Jacobs proposes to amend §1.2 of the Constitution to include the following language as one of the purposes of the Association: “to defend the right to life of all innocent human beings, including all those conceived but not yet born.”

II. Notice is hereby given that Jeffrey B. Golden (Principal Sponsor), Michael Asimov, Walter T. Burke, Kathleen Martin, Charles E. McCallum, and Larry Mills propose to amend § 21.12 of the Bylaws to add a Student Associates category of membership.

III. Notice is hereby given that Llewelyn G. Pritchard (Principal Sponsor), Deborah Enix-Ross, Paula J. Frederick, Rosemary E. Giuliano, Hon. Christel E. Marquardt, Roderick B. Mathews, Mitchell A. Orpett and Jeffrey J. Snell propose to amend § 31.7 of the Bylaws to discontinue the Standing Committee on Lawyers’ Title Guaranty Funds at the conclusion of the 2008 Annual Meeting.

IV. Notice is hereby given that John C. Cruden (Principal Sponsor), Cory M. Amron, Martha W. Barnett, Marguerite L. Carr, David W. Clark, Patrick Thomas Clendenen, Michael S. Greco, William S. Harwood, Tammy Elizabeth Henderson, Robert E. Hirshon, R. William Ide III, Edward E. Kallgren, Robert MacCrate, Karen J. Mathis, Kenneth B. Nunn, David J. Pasternak, William G. Paul and Sayre Weaver propose to amend §31.7 of the Bylaws to create a Standing Committee on Gun Violence.

VI. Notice is hereby given that James R. Silkenat (Principal Sponsor), Sara A. Austin, Gerald T. Giaimo, Shawn D. Guse, Ernestine S. Sapp, Peter M. Suzuki, David C. Weiner, Armando Lasa-Ferrer and Hon. Bernice B. Donald propose to amend various sections of the Constitution and Bylaws as housekeeping amendments. Respectfully submitted.

Armando Lasa-Ferrer


Due to the resignation of Pauline A. Schneider as a Delegate-at-Large, a Delegate-at-Large vacancy will exist. To fill this vacancy, one Delegate-at-Large to the House of Delegates will be elected at the 2008 Annual Meeting for a one-year term beginning with the adjournment of that meeting and ending with the adjournment of the 2009 Annual Meeting. Candidates for election as Delegate-at-Large are to be nominated by written petition. The deadline for filing nominating petitions for this vacancy election in New York, New York, is Friday, July 25, 2008.

Voting will take place in the registration area of the Hilton New York. The polls will be open during the same hours as registration, except on the last day the polls will close at 10:00 a.m. The votes will then be tallied and the nominee with the highest number of votes in the vacancy election will be declared elected as Delegate-at-Large. In the event of a tie vote, I, as the Secretary, will determine the winner by lot. Rules that restrict campaigning for the position of Delegate-at-Large will be mailed to all nominees upon receipt of their petitions.

Nominating petitions may be obtained from the Office of the Secretary, Attn: Carri L. Kerber, American Bar Center, 321 N. Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois 60654.

The petition must be signed by twenty-five (25) members of the American Bar Association. The signing by any member of one petition will not disqualify him/her as the signer of other petitions. Each petition must be filed with my office at the above address by the close of business at 5:00 p.m. (CDT), Friday, July 25, 2008. The filing must include the written consent of the nominee and a biographical sketch approved by the nominee consisting of not more than seventy-five (75) words. All biographical sketches will be printed and available to Association members as they register or collect their credentials at the registration desk at the Annual Meeting.

Any questions regarding the foregoing should be sent promptly to the Office of the Secretary at the Bar Center in care of Carri L. Kerber.

Armando Lasa-Ferrer

ABE Annual Meeting of Members

The Annual Meeting of Members of the American Bar Endowment will be held in conjunction with the ABA Annual Meeting on August 11, 2008, at 8:45 A.M. in the Grand Ballroom of the Hilton New York. Two Directors will be elected at this meeting, each to serve a five-year term.

Give us feedback, share a story tip or update, or report an error.