Your ABA

ABA Notices

  • Print.


The following persons were elected to three-year terms as Delegates-at-Large to the House of Delegates at the 2008 Annual Meeting: Suzanne E. Gilbert (Florida); Christel E. Marquardt (Kansas); Judy Perry Martinez (Louisiana); Pamela J. Roberts (South Carolina); Estelle H. Rogers (District of Columbia); and Ellen F. Rosenblum (Oregon).


At the 2008 Annual Meeting, Leslie B. Miller of Arizona and C. Elisia Frazier of Florida were each elected to one-year terms as Delegates-at-Large to the House of Delegates.


The following jurisdictions will elect a State Delegate for a three-year term beginning at the adjournment of the 2009 Annual Meeting:

New Hampshire
New York
Rhode Island
West Virginia


Nominating petitions for State Delegates to be elected in 2009 must be filed with the Board of Elections at Association headquarters no later than Friday, December 12, 2008. For each state in which more than one valid nominating petition is filed, the Board of Elections shall have the name of each nominee and the names of 25 signers of the nominating petition published in the February 2009 issue of the ABA Journal.

While it is desirable that more than the required minimum of twenty-five names of members of the Association appear on the nominating petitions, only twenty-five names of signers of any petition will be published as provided by § 6.3(b) of the Association’s Constitution. Only signatures of members of the Association will be counted. Each nominating petition must be accompanied by a typewritten list of names and addresses of the signers in the order in which they appear on the petition. A one-hundred-word biographical sketch of the nominee must also accompany the petitions. Forms for this purpose will be provided. The biographical sketch will be included in the ballot material sent to each Association member in the state in which the nominee is a candidate for the office of State Delegate.

A candidate for nominee and all signers must be members of the Association whose membership is accredited to the state where the election is being held.

There is no limit to the number of candidates who may be nominated in any state, and the nominations are made only on the initiative of members themselves.

Each nominee for the office of State Delegate is entitled to receive one list of the names and addresses of the Association members in his/her state. The list is to be made available only after the proper filing of nominating petitions, after the filing deadline, and upon written request. The nominee should allow fourteen days from receipt of the request until delivery of the list.

Nominating petitions may be obtained from the Board of Elections at the headquarters office of the American Bar Association, 321 N. Clark Street, 21st Floor, Chicago, Illinois 60654 and must be filed before the close of business at 5:00 P.M., Friday, December 12, 2008.

Ballots will be mailed to members in good standing, accredited to the state in which elections are to be held, no later than Friday, February 8, 2009, so they will be received by members at approximately the same time as the February issue of the ABA Journal containing the nominating petitions of the various candidates.

In accordance with § 6.3(e) of the constitution, no ballots will be mailed to members when a State Delegate election is uncontested. If only one valid nominating petition is filed, the Board of Elections will certify that the sole nominee is elected.

Honorable Billy G. Murdock, Chair
Louise Michaux Gonzales
Jack B. Middleton

CLE Programs in November

For information, contact the ABA Service Center at 800-285-2221 or [email protected], or visit

Give us feedback, share a story tip or update, or report an error.