Your ABA

ABA Notices

  • Print


Pursuant to ß 6.5 of the ABA Constitution, six Delegates-at-Large to the House of Delegates will be elected at the 2011 Annual Meeting for three-year terms beginning with the adjournment of that meeting and ending with the adjournment of the 2014 Annual Meeting. Candidates for election as Delegate-at-Large are to be nominated by written petition. The deadline for filing nominating petitions for the 2011 election in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, is Friday, May 20, 2011.

Under the Constitution, no more than one nominee from a particular state, territory or possession may be elected in the annual election. If more than one member accredited to the same state, territory or possession submits nominating petitions, each will be notified within ten days of the fact that there is more than one nominee.

Voting will take place in the registration area of the South Building of the Toronto Convention Centre. The polls will be open during the same hours as registration, except that the polls will close on Monday, August 8, 2011, at 5:00 p.m. The votes will then be tallied and the six nominees with the highest number of votes (taking into account that no more than one may be elected from the same state, territory or possession) will be declared elected as Delegates-at-Large. In the event of a tie vote, I, as the Secretary, will determine the winner by lot. Rules that restrict campaigning for the position of Delegate-at-Large will be mailed to all nominees upon receipt of petitions.

Nominating petitions may be obtained from the Office of the Secretary, Attn: Carri L. Kerber, American Bar Center, 321 N. Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois 60654. The petition must be signed by twenty-five (25) members of the American Bar Association. The signing by any member of one petition will not disqualify him/her as the signer of other petitions. Each petition must be filed with my office at the above address by the close of business at 5:00 p.m. (CT), Friday, May 20, 2011. The filing must include the written consent of the nominee and a biographical sketch approved by the nominee consisting of not more than seventy-five (75) words. All biographical sketches will be printed and available to Association members as they register or collect their credentials at the registration desk at the Annual Meeting.

Any questions regarding the foregoing should be sent promptly to the Office of the Secretary at the Bar Center in care of Carri L. Kerber.

Hon. Bernice B. Donald

Action of the Nominating Committee at the 2011 Midyear Meeting

In accordance with ß 9.1 of the Association’s Constitution, the Nominating Committee of the House of Delegates, at its meeting on Sunday, February 13, 2011, nominated Laurel G. Bellows as President-Elect (2011-2012).

The Nominating Committee also nominated the following individuals as members of the Board of Governors:

District Members (2011-2014)

District 1: Joseph J. Roszkowski, Rhode Island
District 2: Josephine A. McNeil, Massachusetts
District 4: Allen C. Goolsby III, Virginia
District 6: Robert L. Rothman, Georgia
District 12: Thomas A. Hamill

Members-at-Large (2011-2014)

Section of Business Law: Barbara Mendel Mayden, Tennessee

Senior Lawyers Division: Charles A. Collier, Jr., California

Minority Member-at-Large (2011-2014): Harold L. Pope, Michigan

Woman Member-at-Large (2011-2014): Sandra R. McCandless

Young Lawyer Member-at-Large (2011-2014): Michael Pellicciotti, Washington

Hon. Bernice B. Donald

CLE Programs in May

For information, contact the ABA Service Center at 800-285-2221 or .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address), or visit

Give us feedback, share a story tip or update, or report an error.