Your ABA

ABA Announcements

  • Print.


The following jurisdictions will elect a State Delegate for a three-year term beginning at the adjournment of the 2017 Annual Meeting:

  • Arizona
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Washington
  • Wyoming


Nominating petitions for State Delegates to be elected in 2017 must be filed with the Board of Elections at Association headquarters not later than Monday, December 5, 2016. For each state in which more than one valid nominating petition is filed, the Board of Elections shall have the name of each nominee and the names of 25 signers of the nominating petition published in the February 2017 issue of the ABA Journal.

While it is desirable that more than the required minimum of twenty-five names of members of the Association appear on the nominating petitions, only twenty-five names of signers of any petition will be published as provided by §6.3(b) of the Association’s Constitution. Only signatures of lawyer members of the Association will be counted. Original signatures are required and can be scanned and submitted electronically. Each nominating petition must be accompanied by a typewritten list of names, addresses, and ABA member ID’s of the signers in the order in which they appear on the petition. A one-hundred-word biographical sketch of the nominee and a signed Statement of Expectations must also accompany the petitions. Forms for this purpose will be provided. The biographical sketch will be included in the ballot material sent to each Association member in the state in which the nominee is a candidate for the office of State Delegate.

A candidate for nominee and all signers must be lawyer members of the Association whose membership is accredited in the state where the election is being held. There is no limit to the number of candidates who may be nominated in any state, and the nominations are made only on the initiative of members themselves.

Each nominee in a contested State Delegate election is entitled to receive one list of the names and addresses of the Association members in his/her state. The list is to be made available only after the proper filing of nominating petitions, after the filing deadline, and upon written request. The nominee should allow up to fourteen days from receipt of the request until delivery of the list. In addition, ABA staff will send one email on behalf of the candidate to the ABA lawyer members in his/her contested state.

Nominating petitions may only be obtained from the Board of Elections at the headquarter office of the American Bar Association, c/o Leticia D. Spencer, 321 N. Clark Street, 21st Floor, Chicago, Illinois 60654-7598, (Leticia.Spencer[at]; 312/988-5160), and also must be filed (via mail or electronically) at the headquarter location before the close of business at 5:00 p.m. (Central), Monday, December 5, 2016.

Ballots for contested elections will be sent to lawyer members in good standing accredited in the state in which elections are to be held, no later than Monday, January 16, 2017.

In accordance with §6.3(e) of the constitution, no ballots will be sent to members when a State Delegate election is uncontested. If only one valid nominating petition is filed, the Board of Elections will certify that the sole nominee is elected.

Hon. Carol Hunstein, Chair
Robert Blumberg
Denley Chew


At the 2016 San Francisco Annual Meeting, the following persons were elected to three-year terms as Delegates-at-Large to the House of Delegates:

  • Michael G. Bergmann (Illinois);
  • Jose C. Feliciano (Ohio); 
  • Latanishia D. Watters (Alabama); 
  • Pauline A. Weaver (California); 
  • Randi B. Whitehead (Florida) and
  • Carole L. Worthington (Tennessee).


At the 2016 San Francisco Annual Meeting, the following person(s) were elected to fill two-year vacancy terms as Delegates-at-Large to the House of Delegates:

  • Richard N. Bien of Missouri and
  • Kelly-Ann F. Clarke of Texas.


Give us feedback, share a story tip or update, or report an error.