Constitutional Law

Prosecutors and Judges to Join Police at DWI Checkpoints to Enforce New 'No Refusal' Law

In what is billed as a first-of-a-kind law enforcement effort in Jasper County, Mo., prosecutors and judges will be joining police at drunken-driving checkpoints, starting tonight, to enforce a new “no refusal” statute in the state.

If motorists who seem to be driving while intoxicated refuse to take a breath test, a warrant will issue on the spot authorizing a blood draw for a blood-alcohol test, according to KOAM.

The Columbia Daily Tribune says nine states including Missouri have such no-refusal initiatives. The others are Arizona, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Louisiana, Texas and Utah. The approach, which is encouraged by the U.S. Department of Transportation, apparently is a growing national trend.

KSPR says the new Missouri law authorizing no-refusal checkpoints has been in place since August.

A 2009 KTVI-TV article indicates the multiprofessional approach to deal with motorists who refuse breath tests was also tried in Missouri two years ago, in St. Charles City. A Missouri Department of Transportation grant covered the police overtime.

Related material: “Police in Fla. Town Use Email and Skype to Obtain Warrants While Still on the Scene”

Drinking Problem: “More States Exploring No Refusal Strategy for DUI Checkpoints”

Trueblood Law Group: “Florida’s “No Refusal” DUI Checkpoints and Your Constitutional Rights”

Total DUI: “ACLU Says Challenges to Ohio’s No Refusal Law Likely”

We welcome your comments, but please adhere to our comment policy and the ABA Code of Conduct.

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.