ABA Notices

  • Print.

Proposed Amendments to the Constitution and Bylaws

Proposed amendments to the Consti­tution and Bylaws of the American Bar Association summarized below have been duly filed with the Secretary of the Asso­ci­ation by the indicated sponsoring members of the Association for consideration by the House of Delegates at the 2005 An­nual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois. Copies of the full text of these proposals will be published in the book of reports to the House of Delegates and are also available via the Internet on the ABA Web Site under the House of Delegates on the ABA Leadership Page @ (click on 2005 Chicago Annual Meeting). These proposals are also available to any member upon request to the Division for Pol­icy Administration at the American Bar Center, 321 N. Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60610.


Notice is hereby given that Edward Haskins Jacobs proposes to amend § 1.2 of the Constitution to include the following language as one of the purposes of the As­sociation: “to defend the right to life of all innocent human beings, including all those conceived but not yet born.”


Notice is hereby given that Margaret A. Costello (Principal Sponsor), Jacques B. Adler, Robert Green, Alan Harnisch, W. Anthony Jenkins, Malcolm Rich, John Ratnaswamy, Pauline Weaver, Robert B. Webster and Janice Brown propose to amend § 6.4(c) of the Constitution to extend the grandfathering provision until 2015 for four local bar associations in order to maintain their representation in the House of Delegates.


Notice is hereby given that Lee S. Kolczun (Principal Sponsor) proposes to amend § 6.2(a)(5), § 6.7 and § 10.1 of the Constitution to change the status of the Section of General Practice, Solo and Small Firm from a Section to a Division.


Notice is hereby given that Chris P. Jeter (Principal Sponsor), Andrew Chiang, Matt Schultz, LeAnne McGill, Robert Stout, Clark Walton, Lindsay Hansen, Christopher M. Casey, Scott M. Aronowitz, Helen H. Higginbotham, Timothy L. Chevalier, Melissa Anne Haas, Christopher Y. Chan, Patrick J. Flaherty, Brooke Burrage-Timmer, Caroline Siefert, Laura E. Choppy, Justin P. Hedge, L. Kathleen Hammer, Saleem S. Razvi, Nina Paul and Jason S. Hagerman propose to amend § 6.2(a)(5) and § 9.2(a) of the Constitution and § 21.7(b)(2) of the Bylaws to provide for representation of a Law Student Division Delegate on the Nominating Committee and in the House of Delegates while serving on the Nominating Committee.


Notice is hereby given that John A. Krsul, Jr. (Principal Sponsor) proposes to amend § 31.7 of the Bylaws to revise the jurisdictional statement of the Standing Committee on Audit.


Notice is hereby given that Walter H. White, Jr., (Principal Sponsor), Mark D. Agrast, Bevin B. Bump, Paula J. Frederick, Burnham “Hod” Greeley, Roberta D. Liebenberg, Pamela J. Roberts, Honorable Norma L. Shapiro, Sharon C. Stevens, John K. Uilkema, Pauline A. Weaver and Lori K. Weems propose to amend § 31.7 of the Bylaws to eliminate the Standing Committee on Solo and Small Firm Practitioners, which has been defunded and its responsibilities undertaken by the General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Section.


Notice is hereby given that William H. Neukom (Principal Sponsor), Helaine M. Barnett, Martha W. Barnett, Paulette Brown, Dianne K. Dailey, Honorable Bernice B. Donald, Laura V. Farber, Harry L. Hathaway, Paul W. Lee, Paul T. Moxley, Joseph D. O’Connor, Mitchell A. Orpett, Richard J. Podell, David C. Weiner, Donna C. Willard-Jones, Pamela J. Roberts, Pauline A. Schneider and Jose Diaz propose to amend various sections of the Constitution and Bylaws regarding the governing structure of the House of Delegates, Nominating Committee, Board of Governors and Officers.


Notice is hereby given that Hervey P. Levin (Principal Sponsor) proposes to amend various sections of the Consti­tu­tion and Bylaws regarding the governing structure of the House of Delegates, Nom­inating Committee, Board of Gover­nors and Officers.

Ellen F. Rosenblum


2005 Delegate-at-Large Vacancy Election

A Delegate-at-Large vacancy election will be conducted at the 2005 Annual Meet­ing to fill a one-year term beginning with the adjournment of that meeting and ending with the adjournment of the 2006 Annual Meeting. The deadline for filing nominating petitions for the vacancy election is Monday, July 11, 2005. … (See the full text of this notice at

ABE Annual Meeting of Members

The Annual Meeting of Members of the American Bar Endowment will be held in conjunction with the ABA Annual Meet­ing on Monday, August 8, 2005 at 8:45 a.m. in the Grand Ballroom at the Hyatt Regency Chicago. … (See the full text of this notice at

CLE Programs in August

For more information, contact the ABA Service Center at 800-285-2221 or service, or visit

Give us feedback, share a story tip or update, or report an error.