Legal Education

New members for next term are slated for ABA legal ed section's council

  • Print.

new ABA logo

The council nominating committee of the ABA’s Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar has announced its slate for the 2020-2021 term, with three new members at large.

They are Michigan Supreme Court Chief Justice Bridget Mary McCormack; Craig M. Boise, the dean at the Syracuse University College of Law in Syracuse, New York; and Susan L. Kay, the associate dean for experiential education at Vanderbilt University Law School in Nashville, Tennessee.

They are slated for a three-year term with the council.

Anders J. Miller, a 3L at the Ohio State University Moritz College of Law, is slated as the council’s Law Student Division member. That seat has a one-year term.

The election will be in July, according to notice posted on the section’s website.

Also, council member Scott Bales, a retired Arizona Supreme Court chief justice who now leads the Institute for the Advancement of the American Legal System at the University of Denver, is slated to be the council’s chair for the next term.

Leo P. Martinez, dean emeritus and professor emeritus at the University of California’s Hastings College of the Law in San Francisco, will be the council’s chair-elect. Joseph K. West, a partner and chief diversity and inclusion officer at Duane Morris, will be the council’s vice-chair.

Give us feedback, share a story tip or update, or report an error.