Law Firms

A dozen Jones Day lawyers are joining the Trump administration

  • Print

Jones Day logo.

Image of Jones Day logo from Twitter.

A dozen lawyers from Jones Day are headed to new jobs in the Trump administration that range from White House counsel to special assistant to the secretary of agriculture.

Jones Day announced the moves in a press release, and several publications picked up the story, including Above the Law, the National Law Journal (sub. req.) and the Wall Street Journal Law Blog.

One appointment—that of Donald McGahn to serve as White House counsel—was previously announced. Also working in the White House are Bill McGinley (deputy assistant to the president and cabinet secretary), Greg Katsas (deputy counsel to the president), David Morrell (associate counsel to the president), James Burnham (senior associate counsel to the president), Annie Donaldson (special counsel to the president and chief of staff to the White House counsel).

Jones Day lawyers working in the Justice Department include Noel Francisco (principal deputy solicitor general), John Gore (deputy assistant attorney general, civil rights division), Chad Readler (principal deputy assistant attorney general, civil division), and Michael Murray (counsel to the deputy attorney general).

Rounding out the list are James Uthmeier (special adviser to the Secretary of Commerce) and Stephen Vaden (special assistant to the Secretary of Agriculture).

A 13th lawyer, Kaytlin Roholt, will serve as special counsel to the Senate Judiciary Committee.

Give us feedback, share a story tip or update, or report an error.