Law in Popular Culture

'Killers of the Flower Moon' among winners of 2024 ABA Silver Gavel Awards

  • Print

Killers of the Flower Moon

Tatanka Means, from left, Lily Gladstone and Jillian Dion pose for photographers upon arrival at the premiere of the film “Killers of the Flower Moon” at the 76th annual Cannes Film Festival in southern France on May 20, 2023. (Photo by Scott Garfitt/Invision/AP)

Killers of the Flower Moon, a film by Martin Scorsese, is among the winners of the 2024 ABA Silver Gavel Awards for Media and the Arts.

The movie about the murders of Native Americans is among nine Silver Gavel winners announced Wednesday. Another four contest entrants received honorable mentions.

The contest recognizes outstanding work that fosters the American public’s understanding of law and the legal system.

The winners were chosen from 29 finalists selected from 176 entries.

Winning entries dealt with topics that include police misconduct, politics and the Supreme Court, a state response to voters, conspiracy, genocide, murder, democracy, guardianship and mental illness.

Steve Wermiel, chair of the ABA Standing Committee on Gavel Awards, noted the “high caliber” of this year’s entries in a press release.

“The Silver Gavel Awards attracted a remarkably strong pool of nominees providing great insights into our legal system,” Wermiel said.

ABA President Mary Smith will present the awards Aug. 3 at 3 p.m. at the 2024 ABA Annual Meeting at the Hyatt Regency Chicago.

Here are the winners:


  • Silver Gavel: Shielded: How The Police Became Untouchable, by Joanna Schwartz; Viking Penguin

  • Honorable Mention: The Court at War: FDR, His Justices, and the World They Made, by Cliff Sloan; Hachette Book Group, Public Affairs


  • Silver Gavel: “Alabama’s Desperate Bid for a Milligan Do-over”:; Kyle Whitmire, columnist


  • Silver Gavel: No Accident: Catalyst Films, HBO Documentary Films, McGee Media; Tina Nguyen and Nancy Abrham, HBO Documentary Films, executive producers; Kristi Jacobson, Catalyst Films, director; Michelle Carney and Ali Moss, Catalyst Films, producers; Chris Herde, editor; Nausheen Dadabhoy, director of photography; Angelica Négrón, original music

  • Honorable Mention: Bad Press: OklaFilm LLC; Joe Peeler and Rebecca Landsberry-Baker, directors; Conrad Beilharz and Garrett F. Baker, producers; Tyler Graim, producer/cinematographer; Jean Rheem, editor


  • Silver Gavel: Killers of the Flower Moon: Apple Original Films; Martin Scorsese, director; Eric Roth and Martin Scorsese, screenplay writers; Leonardo DeCaprio, Rick Yorn, Adam Somner, Marianne Bower, Lisa Frechette, John Atwood, Shea Kammer, Niels Juul, executive producers; Dan Friedkin, Bradley Thomas, Martin Scorsese, Daniel Lupi, producers; Justine Conte, co-producer; Chad Renfro, consulting producer; Rodrigo Prieto ASC, AMC, director of photography; Jack Fisk, production designer; Thelma Schoonmaker ACE, editor


  • Silver Gavel: “What Makes a Murderer?”: The New Yorker/Yale Investigative Reporting Lab; Sarah Stillman, writer


  • Silver Gavel: “Your Democracy”: WHYY and the Law and Policy Group Inc.; Gloria J. Browne-Marshall, writer/host; Sarah Moses, television and video producer

  • Honorable Mention:: “State Court Report”: Brennan Center for Justice at NYU School of Law; Alicia Bannon, editor-in-chief, founding editor; Douglas Keith, founding editor; Kathrina Szymborski Wolfkot, managing editor; Pinky Weitzman, vice president, communications; Alden Wallace, director, creative and design; Lisa Vosper, director, multimedia; Jessica Eckert, graphic designer; Brian Palmer, director, editorial; Evan Stepper, director, digital; Nancy Watzman and Kris Fischer, consultants


  • Silver Gavel: “In the Name of Protection: The Dark Side of Guardianship”: Bloomberg Industry Group; Ronnie Greene and Holly Barker, reporters; Gary Harki and Bernie Kohn, editors


  • Silver Gavel: “The Nocturnists: Post-Roe America Podcast”: The Nocturnists; Ali Block, host/creator; Emily Silverman, MD, co-creator; Molly-Rose Williams, lead producer/editor; Sam Osborn, producer/editor/audio engineer; Jessica Yung, producer/editor; Jon Oliver, audio engineer; Carly Besser, assistant producer; Rebecca Groves, chief operating officer; Nicole Xu, series illustrator; Anjali Walia, Dahlia Kaki, Fiona Miller, Mulki Mehari and Treya Tompkins, student producers

  • Honorable Mention: “We Don’t Talk About Leonard”: WYNC Radio; Andrea Bernstein, Ilya Marritz and Andy Kroll, reporters/hosts; Katya Rogers, editor/executive producer; Molly Rosen, producer; Jesse Eisinger, editor; Shaan Merchant, assistant producer; Jennifer Munson, technical director; Jaren Paul, music/scoring


  • Silver Gavel: “Warehoused: The Life and Death of Tristin Murphy”: CBS News Miami; Jim DeFede, writer/reporter/producer; Alexander Bombard, editor; Leon Gonzalez, Adam Spunt and Joaquin Garcia, photographers; Angela Travieso and Judy Flook, design and graphics; Monica Kirkland and Tracy Letize, marketing and programming; Kari Patey, news director; Kim Voet, president/general manager; Lily Roos, Mark Memmott, Jack Renaud and Thomas Burke, legal and standards

Give us feedback, share a story tip or update, or report an error.