Women in the Law

2024 Margaret Brent Award winners announced

  • Print

Margaret Brent award winners for 2024

Dolores Atencio (from left), Pamila J. Brown, Estelle H. Rogers, Gina Shishima and Barbara Wall will receive their awards during the 2024 ABA Annual Meeting in August. (Photos courtesy of the ABA Commission on Women in the Profession)

For the 34th year, the ABA will be honoring distinguished women in the profession with the Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement Award.

“We applaud the achievements of this amazing group of women, who have and will continue to inspire all of us in the legal profession including the next generation of women lawyers,” said Karol Corbin-Walker, chair of the ABA Commission on Women in the Profession, in an April 8 press release.

The award was established by the commission in 1991 and was named for the first woman to be considered a lawyer in America. Past honorees include Supreme Court justices, legislators, scholars, civil rights activists and powerhouse corporate lawyers.

This year’s five honorees are:

  • Dolores Atencio, a visiting scholar at the University of Denver Latinx Center at the University of Denver’s Sturm College of Law in Denver.

  • Pamila J. Brown, an associate judge at the Howard County District Court in Ellicott City, Maryland.

  • Estelle H. Rogers, a retired public interest lawyer in Forestville, California.

  • Gina Shishima, a chief strategy and operations partner at Norton Rose Fulbright in Austin, Texas.

  • Barbara Wall, a current board member and former chief legal and operating officer of Gannett Co. Inc. in Washington, D.C.

The five women will be presented with their awards at the Margaret Brent Awards ceremony on Aug. 4 from 3 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. during the 2024 ABA Annual Meeting in Chicago.

Tickets are available during the meeting registration process.

Give us feedback, share a story tip or update, or report an error.